Yale Men Win ITA All-Academic Awards

Connor Dawson. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Connor Dawson. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale Men's Tennis team received the ITA All-Academic Team Award for the 13th straight year.

The award is given for a team GPA of 3.2 or higher. Yale is the only Division I men's tennis team to have won this award every year since its inception in 1998.

The men's team had eight players receive the ITA Scholar-Athlete award, given to athletes with a GPA of 3.5 or higher for the year. The following players were honored:

Connor Dawson
Matthew Schimmel
Jordan Abergel
Calvin Bennett
Ryan Berman
Erik Blumenkranz
Joel Samaha
Daniel Hoffman
Stetson led all Division I men's teams with nine winners. Yale tied with Stanford for second place.
The no. 71 Bulldogs overcame injuries and a tough schedule to finish the 2010 season 16-8 overall and 5-2 (2nd) in the Ivy League.
For the full list of teams and players that received awards, click here.
Filed by Dean Karoliszyn