Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Team Awards Announced at Banquet

Tommy Ratchford. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Tommy Ratchford. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Chase, Dawson, Faierman and Ratchford Receive Recognition

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale men's tennis team had its annual end-of-year banquet on Sunday, at which four members of the 2013-14 squad were honored with awards.  All three members of the senior class received recognition, along with junior Daniel Faierman.

Senior captain Kyle Dawson received the James A. Hutchinson '96 Award.  This award is given to the member of the varsity team who, during the year, by sportsmanship and co-operative spirit, has done the most for tennis at Yale.  Dawson led his teammates to a 12-10 season record, and added wins in singles and doubles along the way.  Dawson's time at Yale was marked by tremendous team spirit, as well as resilience, determination and sportsmanship on the court. 

Faierman received the George A. Phelps '95 Memorial Award, given to the member of the team who has shown the greatest improvement during the year.  Faierman excelled at the No. 3 singles position, going 14-7, and at one point in the season recorded a six-match winning streak.  He also contributed to 12 doubles wins this season.  Of those victories, 11 came in consecutive matches from early February to late March. 

Finally, the Stuart D. Ludlum, Jr. '62 Memorial Award, which goes to the player who exhibits the qualities of enthusiasm, perseverance and team spirit, was co-awarded to seniors Patrick Chase and Tommy Ratchford.  Chase has been one of Yale's finest doubles players throughout his four years on the team, and this season, he played mostly alongside Dawson at the No. 2 spot.  Together, Chase and Dawson won five matches.  Of the three singles matches he contested in the spring, he won two.  Ratchford, meanwhile, played alongside freshman Tyler Lu in the match against Marist and posted a win for the Bulldogs.  Both Chase and Ratchford have been dedicated members of the team during their time at Yale.

The election of the captain for the 2014-15 season will take place on Wednesday night. 

Report by Robert Batista '15, Yale Sports Publicity