Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Tyler Lu Earns First Team All-Ivy Honors

Tyler Lu. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Tyler Lu. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Lu Receives Unanimous Selection

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Ivy League released the names of those honored with All-Ivy selections Wednesday, and Yale freshman Tyler Lu earned a spot on the First Team in singles.  Lu's selection to the First Team was unanimous, and he holds the distinction of being the only freshman in the Ivy League to receive First Team recognition. 

Wednesday's announcement caps an impressive rookie Ivy League season for Lu.  Playing at the No. 1 spot for the Bulldogs for all seven matches, he notched three straight-set victories, with two other singles matches going unfinished.  Lu's unanimous selection is the highlight of a strong freshman season overall, in which he compiled a 16-4 record in singles.  This record includes a six-match winning streak earlier in the season.  Also of note, Lu won all five three-set matches he contested.

Lu joins six other Ancient Eight players on the First Team for singles.  Four of the other honorees are juniors and two are sophomores, leaving Lu as the sole freshman.  Dovydas Sakinis of No. 42 Dartmouth was selected as Ivy League Rookie of the Year; while a sophomore, Sakinis was competing in his first season at the collegiate level.    

While Lu did not receive All-Ivy honors for doubles, he also played an important role in the Eli's doubles efforts this season.  He started the spring season by winning his first seven doubles matches, and managed to end the season with a 13-5 record. 

The full list of All-Ivy selections for men's tennis is below. 

Report by Robert Batista '15, Yale Sports Publicity

*Winston Lin, Columbia (Jr. - Williamsville, N.Y.)

Dovydas Sakinis, Dartmouth (So. - Siauliai, Lithuania)

*Dragos Ignat, Columbia (So. - Bacau, Romania)
*Winston Lin, Columbia (Jr. - Williamsville, N.Y.)
Sam Fleck, Cornell (Jr. - Cambridge, United Kingdom)
*Dovydas Sakinis, Dartmouth (So. - Siauliai, Lithuania)
*Denis Nguyen, Harvard (Jr. - Anaheim, Calif.)
Zack McCourt, Princeton (Jr. - Sunrise, Fla.)
*Tyler Lu, Yale (Fr. - Irvine, Calif.)

*Ashok Narayana, Columbia (Jr. - Houston)
*Max Schnur, Columbia (Jr. - Richmond, Va.)
Cameron Ghorbani, Dartmouth (Sr. - Lexington, Mass.)
Brendan Tannenbaum, Dartmouth (So. - Indianapolis)
*Casey MacMaster, Harvard (Sr. -  Fort Collins, Colo.)
*Denis Nguyen, Harvard (Jr. - Anaheim, Calif.)

Ashok Narayana, Columbia (Jr. - Houston)
Max Schnur, Columbia (Jr. - Richmond, Va.)
Stefan Vinti, Cornell (So. - Medias, Romania)
Chris Kipouras, Dartmouth (Jr. - San Ramon, Calif.)
Sebastian Beltrame, Harvard (Fr. - Windermere, Fla.)
Thomas Colautti, Princeton (Fr. - London)

Richard Pham, Columbia (Fr. - Saratoga, Calif.)
Sam Fleck, Cornell (Jr. - Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Jason Luu, Cornell (Jr. - Fairfax, Va.)
Quoc-Daniel Nguyen, Cornell (Jr. - Vienna, Va.)
Nicky Hu, Harvard (So. - Palo Alto, Calif.)
Brian Yeung, Harvard (Fr. - Hong Kong)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Due to ties in voting, there are seven singles players on the first team