Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Labosky Named Captain for 2009 Season

Labosky Named Captain for 2009 Season

Dec. 14, 2008

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Junior Chris Labosky has been named the captain of the Yale men's cross-country team for the 2009 season. Labosky was elected by a team vote at the annual team banquet Dec. 9, where the team also announced senior John Hinkle as the winner of the Mike Stanley-John Cleary Class of 1954 Men's Cross Country Award.

In his first two and a half years at Yale, Labosky has already made a significant contribution to both the cross-country and track teams. The Tallmadge, Ohio, native was sidelined with an injury this entire cross-country season, but looks to return during the track season. His sophomore year, Labosky was the Bulldogs' number two runner at Heps and NCAA Regionals, and ran a personal best at Van Cortlandt Park, with a time of 25:30 for the 8,000-meter course.

On the track last year, Labosky was a Heps finalist, IC4A qualifier, NCAA Regional qualifier and All-East selection. In his focal event, the 800-meter run, he owns a personal best of 1:49.48, the fastest time of any Yale runner since 1991. During the indoor season, he was a member of the 4x800-meter relay that set a Yale record at IC4As. In addition, he was a USTFCCCA All-Academic team and first team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District selection in 2008.

Hinkle received the Mike Stanley-John Cleary Class of 1954 Men's Cross Country Award, which is presented annually to "the outstanding member of the Yale men's cross country team who excels in Dedication, Commitment, and Inspiration to the sport of cross country." A walk-on, Hinkle sat out his freshman year of cross-country, but continually improved throughout his last three years. This season, he ran as Yale's top runner against Harvard, and placed among the Bulldogs' top three harriers in all but one race. He was also an Academic All-Ivy League selection.

Report by Bevin Peters '09, Yale Sports Publicity