Porter Named New England Coach of Year; 11 Rowers Honored By CRCA

Porter Named New England Coach of Year; 11 Rowers Honored By CRCA

Ritzel, Gerrand, Henly, Kanak, Nash Earn All-New England Recognition

GOLD RIVER, Calif. – All facets of the Yale women's crew were honored by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association on Wednesday. Head Coach Will Porter, who guided the Bulldogs to the overall team title at the Eastern Sprints, was named the New England Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his tenure at Yale. In addition, five rowers earned CRCA All-New England honors and eight were selected as CRCA Scholar Athletes.

Porter, who also won the award in 2002, 2004, 2005 and 2007, led the Yale varsity eight to the Ivy League title for the fourth time in the last six years. The Bulldogs also captured the Charles Willing Team Trophy for overall supremacy at Eastern Sprints for the third time in the last four years. In addition, Yale, currently ranked fifth in the nation, earned a bid to the NCAA Team Championships for the ninth straight year.

Five crew members who helped the varsity eight to the Ivy title earned All-New England recognition. Seniors Taylor Ritzel, Tess Gerrand, Alice Henly and coxswain Mia Kanak were named to the first team, while junior Caroline Nash was a second team selection. Gerrand has been an all-region selection in each of her four years, while Ritzel was honored for the third time.

Yale's success is not limited to the water. Henly, Kanak, Alexandra Fields, Nikki Grigg, Catherine Hart, Stephanie Madner, Catherine McDermott and Elizabeth McDermott were all named CRCA Scholar Athletes. To be eligible, student-athletes must have a 3.5 or higher GPA.

The Bulldogs are currently in California preparing for the NCAA Championships, which begin on Friday.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity