Five Yale Rowers Earn CRCA All-America Honors

Five Yale Rowers Earn CRCA All-America Honors
Taylor Ritzel and Tess Gerrand after race (Tim Bennett photo)

Helped Lead Varsity Eight To NCAA Title

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Five members of the Yale varsity eight that won the NCAA grand final two weeks ago have earned All-America recognition from the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association. Seniors Tess Gerrand, Alice Henly, Taylor Ritzel and coxswain Mia Kanak were named to the first team, while junior Caroline Nash was a second team selection. For Gerrand, it was her fourth All-America honor. Ritzel was recognized for the third time, while Henly, Kanak and Nash were first time recipients.

Yale captured the NCAA title for the third time in the last four years on May 30. Gerrand, Ritzel and Henly were part of all three championships, while Kanak and Nash were on board for two. Kanak, though, also won an NCAA crown coxing the second varsity eight in 2009.

2010 was another very successful season for the Bulldogs, who captured the Charles Willing Team Trophy at Eastern Sprints for the second straight year and the third time in the last four years. Yale also won the Ivy League title and finished sixth at the NCAA Championships.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity

View: Mobile | Desktop