Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs Cap Memorable Day By Retaining Case Cup

(photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)
(photo by Don Clark, Yale Sports Publicity)

Yale Varsity Eight Gets Back On Track

Complete Results

DERBY, Conn. – More than 200 alumni and friends came to the Gilder Boathouse on Saturday to celebrate the 40th anniversary of women's crew at Yale. They were treated to an impressive performance from Yale's varsity eight as well. The Bulldogs cruised to a nearly five-second victory over Radcliffe to retain the Nathaniel H. Case Cup.

Yale also won the third varsity eight and second varsity four races.

"Our first varsity raced better today," said Yale head coach Will Porter after his crew rebounded from last Saturday's loss to Princeton, its first defeat of the season. "We made progress this week. The second varsity four and third varsity did great as well."

Yale's varsity eight finished with a time of 6:12.1, while Radcliffe had a time of 6:17.

The closest race of the day came in the second varsity eight, where Radcliffe edged the Bulldogs by a second, 6:23.9 to 6:24.9.

"Our second varsity came up short in a very good race," Porter said. "Radcliffe was the better crew today."

In the varsity four, Radcliffe won with a time of 7:06, more than two seconds faster than Yale.

"Our varsity four is young and will do better," Porter said.

Yale won the second varsity four in 7:13.7, almost five seconds faster than Radcliffe, while the third varsity eight won by a little more than four seconds.

The Bulldogs are right back in action on Monday when they race No. 1 Brown in Providence.

Yale Boatings

Varsity Eight (from the bow):  Madeline Dinse, Maddie Lips, Colleen Maher, Nina Demmerle, Kristina Wagner, Kim Szokol, Claire Tolson, Abbie Young and coxswain Christine Devlin

Second Varsity Eight (from the bow): Mieke Scherpbier, Natalie Lapides, Brit Sharon, Kristjana Gudmundsson, Abby Loucks, Kara Freeman, Martha Cosgrove, Lydia Keating and coxswain Kristen Brownlee

Varsity Four (from the bow): Emily Patton, Olivia Maclean, Kate O'Brien, Schuylery Ritchie and coxswain Laura Grimbergen 

Second Varsity Four (from the bow): Regan Considine, Mimi Reichenbach, Sarah Locke, Kendall Chapin and coxswain Sarah Weil.

Third Varsity Eight (from the bow); Mary Farner, Caroline Ostrover, Sabrina Malak, Casey Wizner, Jackie Cloud, Jen Stockwood, Caroline Hart, Amina Edwards, coxswain Emily Cline.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity