Second Varsity Captures G P Jeffries Memorial Trophy At Henley Women’s Regatta

Second varsity with G P Jeffries Memorial Trophy (John Lapides photo)
Second varsity with G P Jeffries Memorial Trophy (John Lapides photo)

Varsity Eight Falls In Championship Race

Yale's second varsity winning the G P Jeffries Memorial Trophy highlighted a strong final day for the Yale women's crew at the Henley Women's Regatta on the Thames River. The Bulldogs edged Newcastle University in a thrilling championship race to win the senior eight division.

Yale's varsity reached the championship of the elite eight but fell to a British national development crew.

Yale's varsity four lost in the semifinal of the senior four to the University of East London.

"To have all three of our crews racing on the last day at Henley Women's is great for our team," said Yale head coach Will Porter. "It was a good day for YWC."

The senior eight final was one for the ages. Yale and Newcastle went toe-to-toe all the way down the course. The Bulldogs had a four-seat advantage at one point and held on to win by a canvas. The winning time for Yale was 4:53.

Earlier in the day, Yale defeated a crew from Oxford by one-and-a-quarter lengths in the semifinal.

The crew for the Bulldogs is: Kendall Chapin, Casey Wizner, Olivia Maclean, Emily Patton, Abby Loucks, Kara Freeman, Martha Cosgrove and Lydia Keating. The coxswain is Laura Grimbergen.

"It really was a great [championship] race," Porter said. "I am proud of them. Abby Loucks, the only senior, goes out a winner and the rest come back to Yale with more racing experience."

The varsity eight opened the day by defeating a crew from Oxford University by half-a-boat length. In the final, the Bulldogs were matched up with a strong British National team that won by one-and-a-third length.

"The UK crew got out to one length but we matched speed the rest of the way," Porter said of the championship race.

The crew for Yale is from the bow: Colleen Maher, Maddie Lips, Kristina Wagner, Natalie Lapides, Claire Tolson, Nina Demmerle, Madeline Dinse and Abbie Young. The coxswain is Kristen Brownlee.

The varsity eight will remain in England for the Henley Royal Regatta in a few weeks. The Bulldogs are already seeded so they do not have to race in next week's time trials. Yale first race is July 4.

Yale's four ran up against an experienced University of East London crew that featured four former first varsity University of Texas rowers.

"We raced them very tough, losing by just one length while they went on to win the final by more than four lengths," Porter said.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity