Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Warner Elected Captain; Team Awards Announced

Warner Elected Captain; Team Awards Announced

Six Bulldogs Honored

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Amy Warner, who sat in the bow seat of the varsity eight that reached the grand final at the NCAA Championship, will serve as captain of the 2017-18 Yale women's crew. Warner, a South Africa native, has been a member of the first or second varsity eight throughout her career at Yale.

"I respect each and every athlete on YWC a lot for their sheer determination, respect and honorability," Warner said. "Being selected by this outstanding group of girls to lead as captain is an immense honor and privilege which I am very grateful for."

Will Porter, The Friends of YWC Head Coach of the Bulldogs, is confident Warner possesses the qualities needed to lead.

"Amy is all for direct communication," he said. "It is refreshing to have a young person who is tough enough to handle the truth and whatever comes with it. She will be a great captain. She will insist on a united team. I am excited to work with her."

The Bulldogs are coming off a strong season that featured a seventh-place finish at the NCAA Championship, Yale's highest since 2009. Warner hopes to build on that success.

"The level of collegiate rowing is exponentially rising in America, therefore to be competitive, we have to raise our own levels," she said. "Last season we had a signature win at the Head of the Charles and showed very good performances at NCAAs, but going into next year we can only reach for more. Winning the Ivy League Championship is something every athlete wants to accomplish so we start there. I have always believed if we train hard and stay determined, the results will take care of themselves."

Warner is spending the summer working in a lab in the Yale Cardiovascular Research Center. The Bulldogs will begin their full preparation for the 2017-18 season when school begins in September.

"I hope to further instill the team dynamic of hard work and relentlessness with regards to training and racing, which was very present in YWC this past season," Warner said. "Hopefully with my international background I can better assist the very international incoming freshman class to be able to transition into America and the team."

In addition to the naming of captain, the team awards also were announced. Daisy Mazzio-Manson was the recipient of Chris Ernst Award, Lily Lindsay received the Anne Warner Award, Kate O'Brien was presented with the Jenny Kiesling Award, Lydia Keating and Casey Wizner shared the Nate Case Award and Sara Lee was the recipient of the Porter, Maloney, Snider Award.

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity