Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Takes Home Four Medals From Sprints

Yale Takes Home Four Medals From Sprints

May 14, 2006

CAMPDEN, N.J. - The Yale women's crew team qualified for four different grand finals during today's Eastern Sprints championship, but could not come away with a gold medal. The Bulldogs finished second in the junior varsity, and third in the varsity eight, the third varsity four "A", and the third varsity four "B".

Yale boats were edged out of the top spots on numerous occasions by Brown, who won the team title at the EAWRC Sprints for the third consecutive year. Similar to the rest of the 2006 season, the Bulldogs proved strong contenders on the east coast, but could not get past Ivy rivals Brown and Princeton.

In the varsity eight, the Yale boat, stroked by freshman standout Cara Dermody, won their heat in the morning, beating Dartmouth by three seconds, but fell to Brown and winners Princeton in the grand final. The boat also comprised Jane Moore (seven), Maria Stevens (six), Rachel Jeffers (five), Jamie Redman (four), Jennie Hansen (three), Joanna Hess (two), and Suzanne Salgado (bow), and was coxed by Emily Cleveland. Yale's varsity eight, which upset the Tigers in 2005 to take gold at the Eastern Sprints, finished three seconds behind second-placed Brown.

The junior varsity went one better, securing a silver medal by finishing 11 seconds behind winners Brown. The boat included Alexandra Moser (stroke), Emily Matykiewicz (seven), Katie Curran (six), Alexis Fleckenstein (five), Christine Geiser (four), Amanda Rich (three), Caroline Berson (two), Christine Glandorf (bow), and Erin Haber (cox). The Bulldogs won their heat comfortably, but could not keep up with the blistering pace set by the Brown boat in the grand final.

Yale's varsity fours were also dominant in the morning heats, coasting into the grand finals. The "A" four boat was made up of Julie Andress, Catherine Reibel, Milica Vujovic, and Margaret Sullivan, and was coxed by Berkley Adrio. The "A" four cut 13 seconds off their heat time in the grand final to finish third, under four seconds behind winners Brown.

The varsity four "B" boat, with Kristen Schwarz, Laura Sullivan, Laura Harringa, Moira Banks-Dobson, and coxswain Rachel Flynn, also picked up a bronze medal. The "B" four rowed a hard race and was narrowly beaten out of the silver medal position by just one tenth of a second. The two Brown boats finished first and second.

Finally, the novice eight, stroked by Shaughnessy Costigan, battled hard in the fastest heat, but finished a close third Northeastern and Dartmouth. The boat comprised Karin Weisenthal (seven), Lilah Hume (six), Katherine Kazimer (five), Christina Person (four), Alana Riksheim (three), Rebecca Nadal (two), Lee Glandorf (bow), and Kristin Collins (cox). The Bulldogs set the record straight though, cruising to a huge win in the petite final Sunday afternoon. The Bulldogs won nearly 21seconds in a time of 7:12.6, which would have been good enough for a bronze medal in the grand final.

The Bulldogs will bring four medals back from Cooper River, showing an improved depth after winning three last year. The Yale team, coached by Will Porter, will now await an invitation to the 2006 NCAA Championships, held in two weeks' time at Mercer Lake, N.J. For complete results from today's heats and finals, visit the EAWRC Sprints results page.


Varsity 8 Grand Final

2nd Varsity 8 Grand Final

Novice 8 Petite Final

Third Varsity Four "A" Grand Final

Third Varsity Four "B" Grand Final
1-Brown "B"-8:14.9620
2-Brown "C"-8:29.5730
3-Yale "B"-8:29.6830

Report filed by Jamie Cordes '07, Yale Sports Publicity