Yale Varsity Eight Captures Eastern Sprints Title

Yale Varsity Eight Captures Eastern Sprints Title

May 15, 2005

CAMDEN, N.J. - Yale's varsity eight captured the Eastern Sprints championship for the first time since 1981 by winning the Grand Final on the Cooper River. The Bulldogs, who also claim the Ivy League title by virtue of the win, finished with a time of 6:15.60, nearly three seconds ahead of second-place Princeton, who came in at 6:18.00.

In the varsity boat for the Bulldogs were Charlotte Taft, Jane Moore, Maria Stevens, Claire Norsetter, Amanda Kendrick, Christine Geiser, Jo Hess and Rachel Jeffers. The cox was Jehan Budak.

"The varsity rowed an exceptional race," said Yale Head Coach Will Porter. "They were right where they wanted to be the whole race. I'm really proud of them. They showed great poise, were relaxed and enjoyed the experience."

The Bulldogs were fourth after the first 500 meters of the 2000-meter race, but managed to overtake Princeton with about 500 meters to go.

Yale improved its time in the Grand Final by 18 seconds from its time in the morning heats.

The Bulldogs entered the competition seeded second behind Princeton, which defeated the Bulldogs on April 16 on the Housatonic River 6:17.1 to 6:21.2.

In the second varsity eight Grand Final, Yale finished second with a time of 6:30. Princeton won in 6:27.30.

In the second varsity boat for Yale were Alex Moser, Dinah Dimalanta, Jamie Redman, Milica Vujovic, Catherine Wassenaar, Mary Kate Sullivan, Liz Stowers and Julie Andress. The cox was Emily Cleveland.

The Bulldogs' third varsity four also placed second. Yale finished in 7:20.20, three seconds behind first-place Brown. In the boat for the Bulldogs were Katie Curran, Jolanta Golanowska, Suzanne Salgado and Meg Sullivan. The cox was Erin Haber.

Yale's novice eight won the Third Level Final with a time of 7:10.20. In the boat were Laura Sullivan, Jennie Hansen, Cat Reibel, Kristen Schwarz, Justine Murphy, Melissa King, Meg Shea and Laura Harringa. The cox was Elise Patterson.

The Bulldogs will learn on Tuesday if they have earned a bid to the NCAA Team Championship on May 27-29 in Sacramento, Calif.

Women's Varsity Eight: Grand Final - 1. Yale 6:15.60; 2. Princeton 6:18.00; 3. Brown 6:19.00; 4. Radcliffe 6:22.20; 5. Syracuse 6:30.50; 6. Boston University 6:47.10

Women's Second Varsity Eight: Grand Final - 1. Princeton 6:27.30; 2. Yale 6:30.00; 3. Brown 6:34.20; 4. Radcliffe 6:38.50; 5. Northeastern 6:54.30; 6. Boston University 6:59.90

Women's Third Varsity Four: Grand Final - 1. Brown 7:17.20; 2. Yale 7:20.20; 3. Penn 7:21.00; 4. Radcliffe 7:22.70; 5. Princeton 7:30.20; 6. Boston University 7:36.90

Women's Novice Novice Eight: Third Level Final: 1. Yale 7:10.20; 2. MIT 7:43.20

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity