No. 1 Bulldogs Race BU & Dartmouth Saturday

No. 1 Bulldogs Race BU & Dartmouth Saturday

April 9, 2009

Related Links

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale women's crew is off to a strong start in 2009. A Yale boat has won every race it has entered so far this spring, and the Bulldogs will hope to keep it going when they travel to Boston on Saturday to race Boston University and Dartmouth on the Charles River. The varsity eight race is scheduled for 7 a.m. and the Class of 1985 Cup is at stake. Yale has won the cup in each of the last nine years.

Yale's varsity eight remained No. 1 in this week's CRCA-USRowing national poll after cruising to a nearly 10-second victory over Syracuse and Cornell last week. The Bulldogs' second varsity and varsity four also were easy winners.

Boston University, whose varsity eight is receiving votes in this week's national poll, hasn't raced since Mar. 28. The Terriers were scheduled to take on George Washington and Navy last Saturday, but the races were cancelled because of high winds. BU's varsity eight edged Syracuse in its opening race of the season.

Dartmouth's varsity also received votes in this week's poll. The Big Green's varsity eight, second varsity and varsity four were all victorious against Northeastern, Rhode Island and Boston College last weekend.

Class of 1985 Cup Race Schedule

7 a.m. - Varsity Eight
7:24 - Second Varsity Eight
7:48 - Varsity Four
8:12 - Novice Eight
8:36 - Second Varsity Four

Yale Boatings Vs. Boston University and Dartmouth

C: Mia Kanak
8: Taylor Ritzel
7: Christina Person
6: Tess Gerrand
5: Catherine Hart
4: Alice Henly
3: Maren McCrea
2: Caroline Nash
1: Christine Glandorf

C: Berkley Adrio
8: Emily Matykiewicz
7: Allix Wilde
6: Cara Dermody
5: Armine Afeyan
4: Rebecca Nadal
3: Lauren Richards
2: Alexandra Thompson
1: Lee Glandorf

3v A:
C: Sarah Brownlee
4: Mary Pat Wixted
3: Dara Dickson
2: Roxanne Carini
1: Katherine Adams

C: Katie Munyan
8: Catherine McDermott
7: Elizabeth McDermott
6: Georgia Separovich
5: Kathleen O'Keefe
4: Katherine Dyke
3: Nikki Grigg
2: Alexandra Fields
1: Mary Jo Toothman

3v B:
C: Alyssa Reyes
4: Amanda Grady
3: Katherine Kazimer
2: Laura Gottesdiener
1: Karrin Weisenthal

3v C:
4: Ryan McCarthy
3: Lauren Ross
2: Mary Barrosse-Antle
1: Lily Blair

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity