Eight Yale Rowers Named CRCA Scholar Athletes

Eight Yale Rowers Named CRCA Scholar Athletes

June 2, 2009

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale women's crew had quite a bit of success on the water in 2009. The Bulldogs were skilled in the classroom as well. Eight members of the team - Katherine Adams, Sarah Brownlee, Roxanne Carini, Lee Glandorf, Christine Glandorf, Catherine Hart, Mia Kanak and Alexandra Thompson - were all named Scholar Athletes by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association. All the recipients had a 3.5 or higher cumulative GPA.

The Glandorf twins were each honored for the third straight year. Adams, Hart and Kanak were selected for the second time. Freshmen are not eligible.

All eight rowers helped the Bulldogs capture the Charles Willing Team Trophy for overall supremacy at the Eastern Sprints. Christine Glandorf was in the No. 1 seat in the varsity eight that won the Sprints and Ivy League titles. Brownlee, Adams and Carini were part of the varsity four that captured gold, and Lee Glandorf, Kanak and Thompson were in the second varsity that finished second. The second varsity then went on to win the grand final at the NCAA Championships last weekend. Hart sat in the varsity eight for much of the spring but missed the Sprints and NCAA Championships with an injury.

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity