Yale Fencers Celebrate Dernell Every Open

Yale Fencers Celebrate Dernell Every Open

Nov. 9, 2008


NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Saturday saw rainy skies in New Haven, but the mood in the 7th floor fencing hall at Payne Whitney Gymnasium was far from somber. Over twenty-five alumni/ae spanning from 1953 to 2008 gathered with current Yale fencers to compete in the annual Dernell Every Open. Alumni/ae traveled from all over the country to come back to Yale and compete against the current team and each other.

Dernell Every was an Olympic medalist and former national fencing champion at Yale. He was a member of the United States Olympic fencing teams in 1928, 1932 and 1948. The team won the bronze medal in 1932. Every took up fencing while at Yale and became the first to win undisputed consecutive Intercollegiate Fencing Association foil titles in 1927 and 1928. From 1928 to 1951, Every won three national individual foil titles and was a member of 10 national championship teams, competing for the Fencer's Club of New York, then for the New York Athletic Club.

The Dernell Every Open is a celebration of his accomplishments and an occasion for Yale fencing alums to connect with and support the current team. Joseph Bodner '53 was the member of the earliest class to attend and compete. The event ended with the traditional ping-pong match between Yale Fencing Association President Stephen Blum '74 and soon-to-be hall of famer, Coach Henry Harutunian.

The round-robin tournament saw fencers get ranked based on their performances in pools. Competitors were slowly eliminated, producing the following winners in each weapon:

Women's Epee
1. Rebecca Moss `10
2. Valerie Asher `82
3. Anne Nguyen `07

Women's Foil
1. Jillian Liu `12
2. Beth Merritt `81
3. Jennifer Cohen `09

Women's Sabre
1. Farrah Kimovec `10
2. Katie Arden `10
3. Genny Tauxe `07

Men's Epee
1. Frank Osborn `92
2. Gabe Billery `08
3. Matthew Weidner `92

Men's Foil
1. Jonathan Holbrook `12
2. Nathaniel Botwinick `11
3. Martin Bloomer `82

Men's Sabre
1. Sebastian Cano-Besquet `09
2. Jose Dario Martinez `12
3. Jonathan Holbrook `12

Report filed by Dominique Fenton '10, Yale Sports Publicity