Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Earns National Academic Team Award, Places 13 on National Academic Squad

The Yale huddle. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
The Yale huddle. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Bulldogs Have Earned Award Every Season under Pam Stuper

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale field hockey team earned the National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Team Award for the 2009 season and also placed 13 individuals on the NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad, the NFHCA announced Friday. The Bulldogs have earned the National Academic Team Award in each of their five years under head coach Pam Stuper. This year’s honorees included four seniors who earned the award all four years of their careers: midfielder Katie Cantore (Hershey, Pa.), back Stephanie Colantonio (Watertown, Mass.), forward Ashley McCauley (Rye, N.Y.) and back Julia Weiser (Houston, Texas).

The National Academic Team Award is presented to all teams that had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the fall of 2009. The National Academic Squad recognizes those student-athletes who have achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2009-10 academic year.

In addition to their impressive performance in the classroom, which included an Academic All-Ivy League selection for Weiser, the Bulldogs also enjoyed tremendous success on the field in 2009. They set the school record for Ivy League wins by going 6-1 in league play, finishing with a 12-5 overall record. They earned votes in the national poll and had three NFHCA All-Region selections: Cantore, McCauley and sophomore midfielder Dinah Landshut (Hamburg, Germany). Each of those players also earned National Academic Squad selection. Stuper was named NFHCA Mideast Region Coach of the Year.

 Yale’s 13 NFHCA National Academic Squad honorees were:

  • Lexy Adams*, Fr., Lancaster, Pa. (undeclared)
  • Katie  Bolling***, Jr., Ann Arbor, Mich. (history of science/history of medicine)
  • Katie Cantore****, Sr., Hershey, Pa. (history of science/history of medicine)
  • Stephanie Colantonio****, Sr., Watertown, Mass. (psychology)
  • Kirsten Krebs**, So., Selinsgrove, Pa. (psychology)
  • Dinah Landshut**, So., Hamburg, Germany (economics)
  • Chelsey Locarno*, So., Boston, Mass. (undeclared)
  • Ashley McCauley****, Sr., Rye, N.Y. (American studies)
  • Ona McConnell*, Fr., London, England (undeclared)
  • Taylor Sankovich*, So., Short Hills, N.J. (history)
  • Maddy Sharp*, Fr., La Jolla, Calif. (undeclared)
  • Marissa Waldemore**, Jr., New Vernon, N.J. (psychology)
  • Julia Weiser ****, Sr., Houston, Texas (biology)

 *: number of times honored