Yale Earns National Academic Team Award, Places 10 on Academic Squad

March 6, 2006

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale field hockey team earned the 2005 NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award, placing fifth in the country in team grade-point average (3.35). The Bulldogs also had 10 players on the National Academic Squad: Trish Bissett, Lindsay Collins, Elizabeth Friedlander, Marly Gillece, Lorrie Kiger, Rachel Lentz, Heather Orrico, Katie Rivkin, Ali Rotondo and Allison Spitzer.

The Bulldogs' team GPA was tops among Ivy League teams and trailed only Louisville (3.65), Bucknell (3.45), Robert Morris (3.43) and Drexel (3.41) nationally.

Rivkin is a four-time honoree, while Bissett, Gillece and Lentz are all three-time National Academic Squad honorees. Collins, Friedlander, Kiger and Spitzer are two-time honorees.

To receive the honor, a player must have a cumulative GPA greater than 3.30 through the first semester of 2005-2006.

report by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity

View: Mobile | Desktop