Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Rivkin Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Rivkin Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

March 10, 2006

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Senior Katie Rivkin (Scarsdale, N.Y.) has been awarded the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, a $7,500 scholarship that is awarded to 58 student-athletes nationally who participated in fall sports.

Rivkin, a history major, is the first Yale field hockey player to earn the award and the first Yale athlete selected since fencer Peter Devine in 1999. She is also the only Ivy League female to earn the award for the fall of 2005; Brown football player Nick Hartigan was the only other Ancient Eight athlete selected.

To qualify for an NCAA postgraduate scholarship, a student-athlete must have an overall grade-point average of 3.200 (on a 4.000 scale) or its equivalent, and must have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team in the sport in which the student-athlete was nominated. The student-athlete must have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

The student-athlete also must intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time or part-time graduate student. Candidates are screened by seven regional selection committees, and the award recipients are selected by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.

Rivkin started all 17 games for Yale, scoring two goals. Both were game-winners. Of her seven career goals, four were game-winners.

Rivkin's accomplishments are just part of the academic success achieved by Yale as a team. The Bulldogs were recognized as a 2005 NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad this past week. The team's team GPA was tops among Ivy League teams and trailed only Louisville (3.65), Bucknell (3.45), Robert Morris (3.43) and Drexel (3.41) nationally.

Rivkin was one of 10 Yale field hockey players selected as NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad honorees. She has earned that award four times.

report by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity