Banquet Awards Handed Out Wednesday Night

April 27, 2006

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Anne McPherson '06 was honored with the Captain's Award at last night's gymnastics banquet, and Alina Liao '09, Kimberley So '09, Lauren Tatsuno '09, and Miki Seltzer '07 were all honored with outstanding contribution awards for their performances this season. Sarah Peterson '07 was also elected to be the captain for the 2007 season.

The 2006 captain McPherson was honored with the Captain's Award, which goes to the member of the team who has contributed the most to the team through her leadership. During McPherson's four years at Yale, she was a member of two Ivy League Championship teams (in 2003 and 2005), was the Ivy League Champion on Beam twice, Ivy League Floor Exercise Champion and Ivy League All-Around Champion.

Four Bulldogs were also honored with outstanding contribution awards, given to the member of the team who, in the opinion of the coach, has contributed most to the team. Liao was this year's ECAC Rookie of the Year, won the Ivy League's All-Around title, and qualified for the NCAA regionals in the all-around.

In addition to Liao, So also had an outstanding rookie campaign, as she also qualified for the Northeast Regional Championships in the all-around, placing 10th in the event.

Tatsuno rounded out the freshman recipients of the award. She capped an outstanding rookie season by qualifying for the Northeast Regionals in the balance beam and finishing in the top 15 in the event.

Seltzer, who was named the ECAC Specialist of the Year, was also honored with the outstanding contribution award. Seltzer was this year's Ivy League Floor Exercise Champion, and qualified for the NCAA Northeast Regional Championships in the floor exercise and the vault.

Report filed by David Sherfinski '08, Yale Sports Publicity

View: Mobile | Desktop