Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Team of the Year Award from Yale Daily News Caps Season

Team of the Year Award from Yale Daily News Caps Season

May 20, 2005

New Haven, CT - The Yale Daily News' annual Commencement Issue featured the third annual YESPY (Yale Excellence in Sports Yearly) Awards, and the newspaper selected the women's hockey team as its "Team of the Year." The Bulldogs' Mar. 4 win over Princeton in the ECACHL quarterfinals was also recognized as "Moment of the Year," and the Bulldogs had runners-up in the other three categories: Erin Duggan as Player of the Year, Helen Resor as Rookie of the Year and Hilary Witt as Coach of the Year.

"The women's ice hockey squad followed up a record-breaking 2003-04 season with an even more impressive 2004-05 campaign," the newspaper noted. "The Bulldogs put up one of the most dramatic wins of any sport this year in a 4-3 overtime defeat of the Tigers on Mar.4"

In winning as best team, women's hockey beat out Yale's national champion women's squash team, Ivy League champion volleyball team, No. 1-ranked sailing team and NCAA tournament women's soccer team.

"And amazingly, the Bulldogs only sent two skaters to All-Ivy teams -- defenseman Erin Duggan '05 and goalkeeper Sarah Love '06, both Second Team All-Ivy -- making the Elis' run the result of a team performance," the News noted.

The playoff win over Princeton edged out, among others, two of Yale's other wins for Moment of the Year -- Mar. 5 against Princeton to advance to the ECACHL semifinals for the first time in school history and Nov. 12 over Harvard for the first win over Yale's rivals in 20 years.

report by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity