Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs Named Best Overall Collegiate Team a Second Time

Bulldogs on podium after winning the 2014 APS Team Racing National Championship (photo credit: Brian Schneider).
Bulldogs on podium after winning the 2014 APS Team Racing National Championship (photo credit: Brian Schneider).

Nine Bulldogs Receive Highest Honor in College Sailing

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Following the three national championships that took place on May 27-June 6, Yale was awarded the Leonard M. Fowle Trophy for the second year in a row. Nine Bulldogs were also named to the All-American Team, more sailors than any other collegiate team this year.


The Fowle Trophy is awarded to the best all-around team in college sailing and is determined by each team's results at the ICSA Women's Singlehanded, Men's Singlehanded, Match Racing, Coed Semi-Finals, Women's, Team Racing, and Coed National Championships. The team with the best compiled results wins the Trophy.


This year proved extremely successful for the Bulldogs from beginning to end. In the fall, freshman Mitchell Kiss placed fourth at the Men's Singlehanded National Championship. Seniors Max Nickbarg and Chris Segerblom, junior coed captain Graham Landy and sophomore Marly Isler finished fourth at the Match Racing National Championship. Shortly after the spring season, the Bulldogs earned a second place finish at the Women's National Championship and a first place finish at the Team Racing, Coed Semi-Final and Coed National Championships. These results secured the Fowle Trophy for the Bulldogs for the second year in a row.


The Bulldogs also received several outstanding individual awards.


Landy was named College Sailor of the Year as well as appointed to the Coed All-American Team. Segerblom and freshman Ian Barrows were also recognized as Coed All-Americans. Barrows was the only freshman named to the team, an impressive achievement.


Senior Marlena Fauer and junior Morgan Kiss were named to the ICSA Women's All-American Team.


Seniors Eugenia Custo Greig and Amanda Salvesen, junior women's team captain Katherine Gaumond and sophomore Charlotte Belling were named to the ICSA Crew All-American Team.


While this historic year has finally come to an end for the coed and women's teams and six seniors have reached the end of their college sailing careers, many of the Bulldogs that sailed at these national championships will be returning in the fall more excited than ever to begin another great season.


Watch the online ICSA All-American Awards Show at

Report filed by Natalya Doris '17, Yale Sports Publicity