Women's Squash wins Howe Cup

Women's Squash wins Howe Cup

Feb. 22, 2004

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Although the Yale women's squash team had already secured the National Championship and Ivy League Title with their defeats of No. 2 Trinity and No. 4 Harvard during the regular season, Sunday's defeat of Trinity in the Championship round of the Howe Cup at the Brady Squash Center gave the Bulldogs yet another honor to add to what has been a perfect season.

"We are all just so happy," said team captain Devon Dalzell. "We worked so hard all year and now we've received the ultimate payoff."

The Bulldogs got to the championship round after defeating No. 8 Williams in the first round of the tournament. In the semi-final round Yale defeated archrival Harvard, winning 6 of 9 matches.

Trinity proved to be Yale's toughest opponent, with the Bulldogs winning 5-4. Yale won by the same margin when they last faced Trinity on January 21st.

"As I said at the beginning of the match, the crowd here was in for a treat," said Head Coach Mark Talbott during the awards ceremony. "These are two great teams who have shown great sportsmanship. These teams are so evenly matched, it seems as if its 5-4 every time we compete. This is just so exciting and it's been an incredible weekend."

The key matches for Yale were the No. 2 and the No. 7 match, both of which went to five games. No. 2 player for Yale, Amy Gross, was down 2-0 to Trinity's Siu-Lynn Leong before she came back and won 3 straight games to take the match. No. 7 for Yale, Kate Rapisarda, defeated Trinity's Fernanda Rocha, winning the crucial 5th game that gave the Bulldogs' their 5th match win, sealing the tournament victory.

All of Yale's other victories were decided quickly 3-0. Catherine McLeod, Lauren Doline and Sarah Coleman were all winners for the Bulldogs.

Dalzell best summarized what has been such a spectacular year for this Yale team: "We had such a perfect season and this was the best way to end it."

Complete Results

1. Hall (T) def. Quibell (Y) 10-9, 9-6, 9-4 2. Gross (Y) def. Leong (T) 8-10, 2-9, 9-5, 9-7, 9-6 3. McLeod (Y) def. Reddy (T) 9-2, 9-7, 9-5 4. Saunders (T) def. Ho (Y) 9-4, 9-3, 6-9, 9-5 5. Restrepo (T) def. Vora (Y) 10-9, 9-4, 9-5 6. Stephenson (T) def. McCrery (Y) 9-1, 9-5, 9-1 7. Rapisman (Y) def. Rocha (T) 8-9, 9-6, 9-1, 6-9, 9-5 8. Doline (Y) def. Kearny (T) 9-4, 9-0, 9-7 9. Coleman (Y) def. Knight (T) 9-4, 9-2, 9-4