No. 1 Bulldogs Host Howe Cup

No. 1 Bulldogs Host Howe Cup

Feb. 20, 2004

Howe Cup Draws
Howe Cup Schedule

If the women's squash team wins the Howe Cup this weekend, there will be nothing they have not accomplished this season. Undefeated regular season national champions, No. 1 in the country and Ivy League victors, the Bulldogs can add to their list of achievements if they win the Howe Cup team championship. But the road to the title will pass through No. 2 Trinity, who is itching to defeat the Bulldogs after a close 5-4 loss in New Haven on Jan. 21.

Yale will face No. 8 seed Williams in the first round of the tournament, while the other top bracket matchups are No. 2 Trinity v No. 7 Brown, No. 3 Princeton v No. 6 Dartmouth, and No. 4 Harvard v No. 5 Penn. All these matches will take place today at 2:15.

In the second round on Saturday, the Bulldogs will--barring an upset--face Harvard again in a rematch of Yale's 7-2 victory last week that gave them the Ivy League title. Another win against Harvard would place Yale in the finals on Sunday, where they would potentially play Trinity for the national title.

Such a scenario would provide one of the most thrilling Howe Cup matches in years. Last time the Elis played Trinity, the match, tied at 4-4, came down to the No. 1 showdown between Yale's Michelle Quibell and Trinity's Amina Helal. Quibell won the exciting match to give Yale the upset victory and set them on track for what has been an incredible season.

Other Howe Cup teams to watch are Princeton and Harvard. Princeton has had a strong season of their own, upsetting Harvard several weeks ago to give them the No. 3 ranking. Harvard, on the other hand, will look to battle back from a somewhat disappointing season after the Princeton loss.

The Howe Cup is the major end-of-season tournament for women's squash. 29 teams compete in four divisions, with the Howe Cup being the top bracket and containing all the Ivy League schools as well as Williams.

The B Division is known as the Kurtz Cup, with Bates as the No. 1 seed in that bracket, and the C and D Divisions are the Walker Cup and Epps Cup.