Team Hands Out Banquet Awards

Team Hands Out Banquet Awards

April 27, 2006

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Three members of the women's squash team were honored with awards at the team's recent banquet. Michelle Quibell '06 took the top honor of the night, the John A. Blum Squash Award, which is presented to that member of the team who, through character, dedication, and sportsmanship, has made the greatest contribution to Yale Women's Squash. Kate Rapisarda '07 was also named next year's captain.

The accolades did not stop with the Blum Award for Quibell, who, along with Captain Amy Gross '06, was given the Coaches' Special Award awarded to the team member whose presence was vital to the spirit of women's squash at Yale. Quibell also won the team's Most Valuable Player Award and the Harold K. Wilkens Sr. Award, given to the men's or women's squash team member who has represented Yale in an unselfish and exceptional fashion in the name of Yale Squash.

In addition to the Coaches' Special Award, Gross also won the Captain's Award for leading the team with individuality, caring, and integrity throughout the season.

Elisabeth Hill was also honored with the Hunt Welch Most Improved Player Award. Hill had an impressive season, picking up wins against Dartmouth, Williams, Cornell, Bates, Amherst and Brown.

Next year's captain will be Kate Rapisarda '07, whose resume for the 2005-2006 season is also impressive. Her 3-2 win over Trinity's Fernanda Rocha on Jan. 25 helped the Bulldogs to a 5-4 victory over the Bantams. She also eked out a nail-biting 10-8, 10-8, 10-9 win over Anna Detter to help Yale clinch its third straight Howe Cup on Feb. 26 over Trinity.

Report filed by David Sherfinski '08, Yale Sports Publicity