Seven Bulldogs Honored with Season Awards

Susan Kim. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Susan Kim. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Kim Takes Home Three Awards

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale season ending banquet saw the announcement of junior Annie Killian as the 2010-11 captain but it also featured the handing out of the team's annual awards.  The big winners this year were senior Susan Kim and freshman Alex Forrester.  Kim took home three awards, while Forrester took home two.

Kim and Forrester split the Heaton High Point Award.  The Heaton High Point Award is awarded to that swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season. 

Kim also took home the M. Davies Award and the William Leeming Jelliffe Award.  The M. Davies Award is donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998, and is awarded for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming.  This is the fourth straight year that Kim has won this award.  The Jelliffe award is given out to that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during her college years. This prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe.

Forrester's other award was the Harry Burke Award, which was established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassmen.  It honors Yale's former freshman swim coach.

The Tim Jecko Award, which is awarded annually to a member of the men's team and the women's team for outstanding performances in the individual medley, went to junior Kristin Darwin.  It was established in 2004 in honor of Tim Jecko '59 by the Yale Class of 1959.  Jecko, a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team, won many national championships and held many records in freestyle, butterfly and the individual medley. 

Senior Deb Gruen won the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy.  The trophy was established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S in memory of Kenneth MacLeish '18, who was killed in World War I.  It is awarded to that member of the Yale swimming team, who through her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish.

Sophomore Emily Dominski and freshman Molly Albrecht shared the S. Livingston Mather Award, which is donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905, and is awarded for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming.

The Eleanor “Bobbie” Dawson Award was awarded to Killian.  This award is presented by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded to that upperclassmember of the women's varsity team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievements.  The award honors the former secretary of Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty, national official, and supporter of Yale Swimming, Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson.

Report filed by Charles Moore '10, Yale Sports Publicity