Eight Bulldogs Earn Annual Team Awards

Joan Weaver. (photo by Tom Lynam '13, Yale Sports Publicity)
Joan Weaver. (photo by Tom Lynam '13, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale women's swimming and diving team held its annual end of season banquet Tuesday night.  The traditional senior speeches were delivered followed by the presentation of the team's annual awards.  The evening ended with the announcement that junior swimmer Chelsea Dunlap will serve as team captain for the 2013-14 season.

­­­­Freshman Emma Smith received the Tim Jecko Award, given annually to a member of the men's team and the women's team for outstanding performances in the individual medley.  The award was established in 2004 in honor of Tim Jecko '59 by the Yale Class of 1959.  Jecko, a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team, won many national championships and held many records in butterfly, freestyle and the individual medley. 

Senior captain Joan Weaver was given the Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson Award, presented annually by the Yale Swimming Association to the upperclassman of the women's varsity team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievements.  The award honors the former secretary of Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty, national official, and supporter of Yale Swimming, Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson.

Freshman Eva Fabian was the recipient of the Harry Burke Award.  This award was established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassman.  It honors Yale's former freshman swim coach.

Senior Alexandra Forrester won the Heaton High Point Award.  The Heaton High Point Award is given to the swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season. 

Senior Paige Meneses was awarded the William Leeming Jelliffe Award.  The Jelliffe award is given to the senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in athletic ability and outstanding leadership during her college years. This prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe.

Senior Molly Albrecht took home the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy.  The trophy was established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S in memory of Kenneth MacLeish '18, who was killed in World War I.  It is awarded to that member of the Yale swimming team, who through her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish.

Senior Cynthia Tsay won the S. Livingston Mather Award.  This award is given in honor of the late S. Livingston Mather, Class of 1905, for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming.

Sophomore Jacqui Levere was this year's M. Davies Award recipient.  The Davies Award is donated by the family of Malindi Davies, Class of 1998, and is awarded for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming.

The final announcement of the evening was that Dunlap had been elected captain by her teammates for the 2013-14 season.  The junior from Westlake, Texas, is a breaststroke swimmer and will take over captainship duties from Weaver.

Report filed by Tom Lynam '13, Yale Sports Publicity