Swimmers Celebrate Season with Team Awards

Emma Smith. (photo by Tom Lynam '13, Yale Sports Publicity)
Emma Smith. (photo by Tom Lynam '13, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- At the end of season banquet two weeks ago, the Yale women's Swimming and Diving Team honored several swimmers with the traditional end of season awards.  Seniors Chelsea Dunlap and Courtney Randolph, sophomores Eva Fabian, Emma Smith and Ali Stephens-Pickeral and freshmen Michelle Chintanaphol, Lilybet MacRae and Kina Zhou all received individual awards for their performances this season.

Zhou received the Harry Burke Award, which was established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association to honor Yale's retired coach.  It is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale swimming by an underclassman.  Zhou had an excellent rookie season, consistently turning in dominating performances in the shorter freestyle distances.  At the Ivy League Championship meet, she finished third in the 50-yard freestyle, fifth in the 100-yard freestyle and second in the 200-yard freestyle.

MacRae earned the John E. Heaton High Point Award.  This honor was established in 1924 and named for John Edward Heaton, a former resident of New Haven.  It is awarded to that swimer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season.  MacRae was spectacular in her freshman season, consistently scoring victories in both diving events.  At Ivies, she finished first in the one-meter event and second in the three-meter.

Randolph was given the William Leeming Jelliffe Award.  Established in 1925 by Dr. and Mr.s Smith Ely Jelliffe in memort of their son, William L. Jelliffe, Ph.B. 1923, it is awarded annually to that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming (or diving) ability and outstanding leadership during his (or her) college years.  Randolph finished fourth in the 400-yard IM at Ivies and third in the B-final of the 200-yard IM, good for 11th overall.  

The MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy was given to Fabian.  Given in 1936 by Halsted B. VanderPoel, B.S. 1935, in memory of Kenneth MacLeish, B.A. honoris-causa post-obit 1918.  Awarded to that member of the team who, through his efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish.  Fabian was the Ivy League's top distance freestyler this season, winning the 500-yard and 1650-yard freestyle at Ivies and finishing second in the 1000-yard freestyle.

Chintanaphol won the S. Livingston Mather Award, named for S. Livingston Mather, B.A. 1905 and awarded for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming.  Chintanaphol was consistently Yale's top backstroker during her freshman season.  At Ivies, she finished second in the 200-yard backstroke.

Dunlap won the Eleanor "Bobby" Dawson Award, given to that upperclass member of the women's team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievement.  This year's captain, Dunlap offered the young team a wealth of experience, keeping them on an even keel as Yale swam its way to one of its most successful seasons in recent years.

Stephens-Pickeral won the M. Davies Award for the top breaststroker on the team.  At Ivies, she finished third in the 200-yard breaststroke and sixth in the 100-yard event.

Smith won the Tim Jecko Award for the top Individual Medley swimmer.  She finished first and set a pool record in the 400-yard individual medley at Ivies and finished fourteenth in the 200-yard IM.

Junior Elizabeth Larsen was named captain at the banquet.  For a full report on next year's captain, click here.

Report filed by Lyon Van Voorhis '15, Yale Sports Publicity