Women's Swimming and Diving Awards Given for 2004-05 Season

Women's Swimming and Diving Awards Given for 2004-05 Season

April 5, 2005

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - First recognized were the new Yale Women's Swimming School Records and record-holders from this past season. Three seniors and two sophomores comprised the group that set the two new records. NCAA qualifier senior Melanie Loftus (McLean, VA) was recognized for her score of 481.65 in the 3 Meter Dive. The 400 Medley Relay team of sophomore Moira McClosky (Ventnor, NJ), senior Caroline Stephenson (Cotuit, MA), senior Rebecca Knicely (Williamsburg, VA) and sophomore Meg Gill (Chester, VA), who turned in a time of 3:48.42 in their All-Ivy performance in this event, were also recognized.

Melanie Loftus was awarded the Heaton High Point Award and recognized as the member of the swimming and diving team who scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition this past season. Melanie was honored yet again a little later in the evening as the recipient of the Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson Award. Presented by the Yale Swimming Association, this award goes to "that upper-class member on the women's Varsity team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievements". The award honors the former secretary to Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty, a national official, and supporter of Yale Swimming, Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson.

Senior Alison Rodgers (Pearl River, NY) was awarded the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. Established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S, in memory of Kenneth MacLeish,1918 who was killed in World War I, this trophy is awarded to "that member of the Yale Swimming Team, who through his or her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish."

Both Moira McCloskey and Meg Gill were recognized again for their outstanding seasons. Meg received the Harry Burke Award. Established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association, this award honors Yale's retired former freshman swim coach Harry Burke and is "awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassman". Moira earned the S. Livingston Mather Swimming Award. This prize is donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905, and is awarded for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming.

Caroline Stephenson was recognized three different times during the evening, first as the winner of the William Leeming Jelliffe Award. This award is given annually to "that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during his college years." The prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe. Next Caroline was given the M.Davies Award. This prize was donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998. It is awarded each year for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming. The final presentation of the night was the Tim Jecko Award, which also went to Caroline. This trophy is given annually for outstanding performances in individual medley. Tim Jecko was a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team. He won many national championships and held many records at Yale in freestyle, butterfly and individual medley. The award was established in 2004 by Tim' s classmates of the Yale Class of 1959. This presentation was made that much more special by the presence of Joann Jecko, her son and her daughter in law, who made the presentation to Caroline.

Yale's long time Starter and Meet Referee Dick Slawsky was this year's Robert J.H. Kiphuth Award winner. This award honors the former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Robert J.H. Kiphuth. It was established in 2003 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that individual who has shown outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program."