Andrea Clifford Named 2009-10 Yale Women's Swimming and Diving Captain

Andrea Clifford Named 2009-10 Yale Women's Swimming and Diving Captain

April 7, 2009

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The Yale women's swimming and diving team named junior Andrea Clifford as the 2009-10 captain at the team's annual awards banquet on Tuesday, March 31. Clifford, a native of Chattanooga, Tenn., will take over for outgoing captain Aidan McKinlay.

"I am honored to have been elected to lead our team next year and am extremely excited about the upcoming season," said Clifford. "We just graduated a strong senior class, but judging by the effort I have seen from the rest of the team as we begin spring workouts, the younger classes are ready to step up and fill their shoes."

Elected by her teammates, Clifford has become a crucial member of the squad competing in freestyle and butterfly events. At this year's Ivy League championships, she took fifth in the 50-yard freestyle, ninth in the 100-yard butterfly and 18th in the 100-yard freestyle. She also contributed to numerous relays at the event.

The dinner also featured the handing out of the team's annual awards. Junior Susan Kim and freshman Hayes Hyde each earned two awards.

Kim earned the Heaton High Point Award as well as the M. Davies Award. The Heaton High Point Award is awarded to that swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season. The M. Davies Award is donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998, and is awarded for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming. This is the third straight year that Kim has won this award.

Hyde won the Harry Burke Award, which was established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassmen. It honors Yale's former freshman swim coach. Hyde also earned the Tim Jecko Award, which is awarded annually to a member of the Men's Team and the Women's Team for outstanding performances in the individual medley. Jecko, a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team, won many national championships and held many records in freestyle, butterfly and the individual medley. It was established in 2004 in honor of Tim Jecko '59 by the Yale Class of 1959.

The William Leeming Jelliffe Award went to senior captain Aidan McKinlay. The award is given out to that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during her college years. This prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe.

Another senior Alexis Mann won the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. The trophy was established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S in memory of Kenneth MacLeish '18, who was killed in World War I. It is awarded to that member of the Yale Swimming Team, who through her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish.

Senior Brenna Davis won the S. Livingston Mather Award, which is donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905, and is awarded for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming. This is Davis's second year winning the award.

The Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson Award was awarded to senior Laura Strittmatter for the second year in a row. This award is presented by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded to that upperclassmember of the women's Varsity team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievements. The award honors the former secretary of Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty, national official, and supporter of Yale Swimming, Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson.

Finally, Rhonda Vegliante was presented with the Robert J.H. Kiphuth Award. This award honors former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach Robert J.H. Kiphuth. It was established in 2003 by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded to that individual who has shown outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program.

Along with the awards, the team also honored 29 swimmers with varsity letters and three with gold medals for breaking records. Kim and Hyde each broke two Yale records and sophomore Ileana Lucos broke one. Kim set new marks in the 100- and 200-yard breaststroke. Both her records, 1:02.05 in the 100-yard and 2:12.86 in the 200-yard, were also Ivy League records. Hyde broke the 200-yard butterfly and 200-yard IM records. The 200-yard butterfly record now sits at 1:58.20, while the 200-yard IM has been reset at 2:00.97. Lucos broke the 200-yard butterfly record with her time of 2:00.56.

Report filed by Charles Moore '10, Yale Sports Publicity