Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Hands Out Awards at Annual Banquet

Yale Hands Out Awards at Annual Banquet

April 9, 2008

New Haven, CT - The Yale women's swimming and diving team celebrated the 2007-08 season with its annual awards banquet Tuesday April 8.

Senior Laura Aronsson, senior Katelyn Kane, and freshman Ileana Lucos all won multiple awards during the banquet.

Lucos won the Heaton High Point Award, given to the swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season.

Seniors Caroline Dowd and Katelyn Kane shared the William Leeming Jelliffe Award. This award is given annually to "that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during her college years." The prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe.

Kane also won the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. Established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel `35S, in memory of Kenneth MacLeish, 1918 who was killed in World War I, this trophy is awarded to "that member of the Yale Swimming Team, who through his or her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish."

Aronsson, junior Brenna Davis, and freshman Becca Stern shared the S. Livingston Mather Swimming Award, donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, Class of 1905.

Lucos won the Harry Burke Award. The Harry Burke Award honors Yale's retired former freshman swim coach Harry Burke and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassmen.

Sophomore Susan Kim won the M. Davies Award. This prize was donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998. It is awarded each year for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming.

Junior Laura Strittmatter won the Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson Award. This award goes to "that upper-class member on the women's team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievements". The award honors the former secretary to Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty, a national official, and supporter of Yale Swimming, Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson.

Aronsson also won the Tim Jecko Award. This trophy is given annually for outstanding performances in individual medley. Tim Jecko was a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team. He won many national championships and held many records at Yale in freestyle, butterfly and individual medley. The award was established in 2004 by Tim's classmates of the Yale Class of 1959.

Finally, Kane was presented with the Robert J.H. Kiphuth Award. This award honors the former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Robert J.H. Kiphuth. It was established in 2003 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that individual who has shown outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program."

Report Filed by Steven Horn '10, Yale Sports Publicity