Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Swimming and Diving Awards Given for 2003-04 Season

Women's Swimming and Diving Awards Given for 2003-04 Season

April 14, 2004

Head Coach Frank Keefe announced the Yale Swimming and Diving major awards for the recently concluded 2003-2004 season at the Annual April Awards Banquet. Eleven Lady Bulldog swimmers and divers were recognized.

First recognized were the new Yale Women's Swimming School Records and record-holders from this past season. Four freshmen, two juniors, and one senior comprised the group that set the 3 new records. Becca Knicely (Williamsburg, VA), whose 100 Butterfly time at Ivy's of 55.28 broke the record held by 1992 NCAA All-American Leigh Metcalf, was honored for her efforts. Both the 400 Medley Relay team (Moira McClosky, Caroline Stephenson, Meg Gill, and Paige Harazin), who turned in a time of 3:50.07, and the 800 Freestyle Relay team (Chase Butler, Moira McClosky, Cristina Hession, and Paige Harazin), with a time of 7:28.51, were recognized.

Junior diver Melanie Loftus (Mc Lean, VA) was awarded the Heaton High Point Award that is awarded to that swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season.

Senior Laura O'Brien (Watertown, CT) and Senior diver Kathleen McKeon (Atlanta, GA) were named co-recipients of the William Leeming Jelliffe Award. This award is given annually to "that senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming and/or diving ability and outstanding leadership during her college years." The prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe. Laura had been under Coach Keefe's tutelage since her age group swimming years as a member of the Omni Swim Club at Yale.

Senior Meghan Gutekunst (Phoenix, AZ) was awarded the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy. Established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S, in memory of Kenneth MacLeish, 1918 who was killed in World War I. This trophy is awarded to "that member of the Yale Swimming Team, who through his or her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish."

Freshmen Moira McCloskey (Ventnor, NJ) was recognized for her outstanding season with two awards. For her backstroke efforts, Moira earned the S. Livingston Mather Swimming Award. This prize is donated by the late S. Livingston Mather, class of 1905, and is awarded for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming. Moria also received the Harry Burke Award. Established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association, this award honors Yale's retired former freshman swim coach Harry Burke and is "awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassmen".

The other stroke award of the evening went to Caroline Stephenson (Cotuit, MA). Caroline won the M. Davies Award. This is a prize donated by the family of Melindi Davies, class of 1998. It is awarded each year for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming.

Captain Amy Hancock (Sykesville, MD) was given the Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson Award. Presented by the Yale Swimming Association, this award goes to "that upperclassmember on the women's Varsity team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievements". The award honors the former secretary to Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty, a national official, and supporter of Yale Swimming, Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson.

The final award of the evening, the Robert J.H. Kiphuth Award, was given to another former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Phil Moriarty. The award itself honors the former Yale Varsity Swim Coach and United States Olympic Coach, Robert J.H. Kiphuth. It was established in 2003 by the Yale Swimming Association and is "awarded to that individual who has shown outstanding service, dedication and loyalty to Yale University and the Yale Swimming Program."