No. 30 Yale Claims Ivy League Championship With 6-1 Victory Over Dartmouth

The 2012 Ivy League champion Yale women's tennis team.
The 2012 Ivy League champion Yale women's tennis team.

HANOVER, N.H. – Sunday, the No. 30 Yale women's tennis team won its second consecutive Ivy League Championship with a 6-1 win over Dartmouth.

With the win, Yale improves to 18-3 (6-0 Ivy) and is now guaranteed an automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament. 

Yale started the match by winning the doubles point for the 20th time in 21 tries.  The pairing of junior Elizabeth Epstein and sophomore Annie Sullivan drew first blood, topping Janet Liu and Rachel Decker-Sadowski 8-2.  Next up, senior captain Steph Kent and junior Blair Seideman clinched the first point of the match by knocking off Theresa Smith and Jeri Reichel 8-3.  Finally, the No. 81 ranked combo of senior Vicky Brook and freshman Amber Li won 8-3 over Akiko Akuda and Sarah Leonard.

Working with the lead, Yale quickly improved its chances with a victory from Brook over Theresa Smith 6-2, 6-1 at No. 4.  Next, Epstein put the Bulldogs up 3-0 with a victory at No. 1.  Epstein topped Leonard 6-0, 6-4.  Playing for the Ivy League title, freshman Hanna Yu beat Akuda at No. 3 by a score of 6-4, 6-2 in a match that was never really close.  With the championship already in hand, Sullivan topped Decker-Sadowski easily, winning 6-4, 6-2 in the No. 6 position.  At No. 2, Seideman won the last Bulldog victory 7-5, 6-0 over Janet Liu.  With the Bulldogs already winning the match 6-0, Kent fell at No. 5 to Sabrina Stewart 7-6 (5), 7-5. 

The Bulldogs have only one match left on the schedule, against Brown next Saturday, as Yale aims for its first perfect Ivy season since 2008. 


Report by Calvin Bohn '14, Yale Sports Publicity