Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lightweights Prepared for Harvard and Princeton

Yale Varsity
Yale Varsity

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – This Saturday, Apr. 27, the No. 2 Yale lightweight crew team will race against No. 1 Harvard and No. 6 Princeton in the annual Harvard-Yale-Princeton regatta. The races, to be held in Princeton, N.J., on Lake Carnegie have been contested almost every year since 1922. The three crews will be racing for the Goldthwait Cup, which is awarded to the winner of the varsity race, as well as the Vogel Cup, which is awarded to the team with the most overall points.

Last week, the Bulldogs hosted Dartmouth in Derby, Conn., for the Durand Cup races. The Bulldogs swept their foe, winning all four races and reclaiming the Durand Cup. The varsity, second varsity, third varsity and first freshmen all won their races by 3.0, 13.6, 42.5 and 6.2 seconds respectively.

Last year at the HYP regatta, Yale won two of four races it entered. The Yale second varsity led the entire race, winning by a definitive 8.9 seconds. The Yale first freshmen also used a thrilling come-from-behind push to take a late lead, winning by just 1.4 seconds. However, Yale fell in both the varsity and third varsity events, allowing Harvard to capture both the Goldthwait and Vogel Cups.

This year, the regatta looks to be as competitive as ever. Yale and Harvard varsity boats are both undefeated and ranked as the top two boats in the nation. Princeton is not far behind at number six. In the second varsity event, Harvard, Princeton and Yale are ranked first, third and fourth, respectively, which should lead to a close race. In the first freshmen event, the second-ranked Yale boat takes on the fourth-ranked Harvard and fifth-ranked Princeton boats. Finally, the Yale third varsity takes on the third-ranked Harvard and fourth-ranked Princeton third varsities.

The schedule of events is as follows:

9:20 a.m.: First Freshmen Eight
9:40 a.m.: Second Varsity Eight
10:00 a.m.: First Varsity Eight
10:20 a.m.: Third Varsity Eight

All races will be broadcast live here.

Report filed by Yale Sports Publicity