Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ten Lightweights Earn IRA All-Academic Recognition

(Photo courtesy of Ken Yanagisawa)
(Photo courtesy of Ken Yanagisawa)

DERBY, Conn. - Ten members of the Yale lightweight crew team received IRA All-Academic Team recognition Tuesday, as part of a campaign to honor the nation's brightest collegiate rowers. Recipients include six members from the graduating Class of 2013: David Bloom, William Ferraro, Greg Hausheer, Patrick O'Keefe, Thomas Swartz and Christopher Vasseur. Also recognized are four rising seniors, namely Joseph Hanlon, Josh Mann, Matthew O'Donoghue and Ilana Usiskin

Selected candidates have demonstrated their abilities both in the classroom and on the water; nominees must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.35 or above and win a varsity letter. Freshman rowers are ineligible for selection. A total of 202 athletes were selected from 26 different IRA-member institutions. 

Head coach Andy Card outlined the importance of academics to the culture of his team. 

"This is what is great about Yale and Y150: you can hold yourself to high standards both individually in academics and in a team setting on the water," said Card. "Not everyone makes the list, but those who do are special."

The announcement caps a successful academic year for the Y150. In May, O'Keefe received the prestigious Kiphuth Award, awarded to the two male and female student-athletes who rank highest in scholarship and have earned two varsity awards. In June, Swartz was one of 10 Yale athletes to earn Spring Academic All-Ivy Recognition.

More information regarding the IRA All-Academic Team can be found on the ECAC website, found here.