Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Reeves Named 2018 Captain

John Mackie image
John Mackie image

Elis Hand Out Team Awards


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The 2017 Yale men's lacrosse team won Ivy League regular season and tournament championships and were voted New England Champions as well. Today, the Bulldogs gathered to pick a captain and hand out their association awards.

Ben Reeves, the two-time Tewaaraton Award Finalist who was this year's Ivy and New England Player of the Year, was named 2018 team captain while picking up a pair of team awards. The junior attackman became Yale's career points leader with 201 last Sunday night when he scored four goals and handed out two assists against Syracuse in the NCAA Tournament.

Reeves, who had 42 goals and 79 points in 15 games this spring, earned team MVP honors as well as the award for the top Yale offensive player.

Here are all the awards handed out today.



DAN CASMAN AWARD: Awarded to the underclassman who has contributed most to team spirit and morale.... Matt Gaudet, Fr, A


WALTER T. COLLINS '23 AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best offensive lacrosse player of the season… Ben Reeves, Jr, A


RICHARD CORRIGAN - RICHARD W. PERSHING AWARD: Presented annually to that member of the varsity lacrosse team who has shown the most improvement over the course of one season... Aidan Hynes, Fr, D


DONALD J. REAPE MEMORIAL AWARD: Presented annually by Donald J. Reape to that upperclassman who best exemplifies the character, spirit, dedication, hard work, and enthusiasm that his son Don gave to Yale Lacrosse.... Eric Scott, Fr, M and John Lazarsfeld, Sr, M


WINTHROP A. SMITH AWARD: Presented by DeForest W. Smith '61, Winthrop S. Smith '59, and Donford M. Smith - Middlebury '60 to that member of the lacrosse team whose superior conditioning and team play has served as an inspiration to his teammates.... Tyler Warner, Jr, M


L. C. STOWELL AWARD: Presented annually to the most valuable player on the varsity squad.... Ben Reeves, Jr, A


CHRISTIAN PRINCE MEMORIAL AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best defensive lacrosse player of the season... Aidan Hynes, Fr, D


ROBERT G. MERRICK MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to player who has the most ground balls.... Conor Mackie, Jr, M/FOGO


WILLIAM "BRAD" GANO '78 MEMORIAL AWARD: Presented annually to that member of the team whose determination, tenacity, and character demonstrates the mental and physical toughness that best embodies Brad's spirit of competitiveness… Jeff Cimbalista, Sr, A and Camyar Matini, Sr, D

by Steve Conn, Yale Associate AD & Sports Publicity Director -