Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

7 Bulldogs Get NEILA Honors

John Mackie image
John Mackie image

Reeves Player of Year


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Seven Bulldogs were selected for the 2017 New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-Star Team after helping Yale win Ivy League regular season and tournament championships. In addition, the leading scorer, Ben Reeves, was named NEILA Player of the Year.

Joining Reeves, a Tewaaraton Finalist and Ivy Player of the Year, on the New England first-team are midfielder Eric Scott, face-off man Conor Mackie and short-stick midfielder Tyler Warner. Three Elis, attackman Matt Gaudet, midfielder Jason Alessi and defenseman Brian Pratt were second-team picks.

Four of Yale's NEILA selections are underclassmen. Junior Conor Mackie was among the nation's top FOGO specialists while establishing some significant milestones this spring. He tied a school record with 26 wins at Princeton a week after equalizing an NCAA record for fastest goal to start a game when he took three seconds against Cornell.

Junior Jason Alessi had another solid season at midfield, including 17 goals and 25 points. Matt Gaudet had an excellent rookie campaign on attack with 32 goals and 37 points while earning multiple Ivy Rookie of the Week honors.

Warner and Pratt were two players focused on defense. Warner, a junior who earned IL All-America honors, had 29 ground balls and was key on face-offs. Pratt, the team captain, was playing out of position because of injuries but still managed 27 ground balls and seven caused turnovers.

The other senior Eli honored by NEILA was Scott, who was second on the team with 42 points. He was a first-team All-Ivy pick and a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.