Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs Hold Off Radcliffe, Retain Case Cup

Bulldogs Hold Off Radcliffe, Retain Case Cup

Yale Has Won Cup In 13 Of Last 15 Years

Complete Results

BOSTON – Yale's varsity eight got back on track with an impressive victory over Radcliffe on the Charles River. The Bulldogs edged the Crimson by a little over a second to retain the Case Cup. Northeastern finished third.

The race, though, wasn't without a bit of controversy. The two crews clashed oars for two strokes at about the 800-meter mark, and Radcliffe protested the result.

"The race official was very clear with her call saying both coxswains were to blame for the clash and that it did not affect the outcome of the race," said Yale head coach Will Porter. "It was an unfortunate blemish on an otherwise great race."

The Bulldogs have now won the Case Cup in 13 of the last 15 years.

Yale finished with a time of 6:20.3, while Radcliffe came in at 6:21.9.

"Coming off the Princeton race [a loss], we had a tough week of wind and turmoil on the water but we were able to find another gear," Porter said. "The varsity eight really stepped up and nearly put together a complete piece."

Radcliffe did win the other four races. The closest finish was in the varsity four, where Radcliffe had a three-second margin of victory.

Radcliffe won the second varsity eight by nearly six seconds.

"We raced hard in all boats," Porter said. "We need to continue to work on our team speed in all boats. This team has a great spirit and is coming on. The youngsters have to be quick about processing races, learn and move forward. We need to improve at using our experiences to get better, otherwise they are just experiences and nothing else."

The Bulldogs will be back in action on Monday when they face Brown at noon on the Housatonic River.

Yale Boatings

Varsity Eight: 1. Colleen Maher, 2. Maddie Lips, 3. Natalie King, 4. Kim Szokol, 5. Nina Demmerle, 6. Claire Tolson, 7. Abbie Young, 8. Eliza Hastings, coxswain: Kristen Brownlee

Second Varsity Eight:

1. Kristjana Gudmundsson, 2. Abby Loucks, 3. Elizabeth Vincent, 4. Kristina Wagner, 5. Emily Tormey, 6. Amber Anderson, 7. Martha Cosgrove, 8. Madeline Dinse, coxswain: Christine Devlin

Varsity Four: 1. Mieke Scherpbier, 2. Natalie Lapides, 3. Juliet Caragianis, 4. Jen Stockwood, coxswain: Margaret Ayers 

Second Varsity Four: 1. Kara Freeman, 2. Brit Sharon, 3. Mimi Reichenbach, 4. Amina Edwards, coxswain: Laura Grimbergen

Third Varsity Eight: 1. Sabrina Malak, 2. Jane Kozey, 3. Emily Diana, 4. Regan Considine, 5. Kendall Chapin, 6. Mary Farner, 7. Emma Hammarlund, 8. Christine Tsai,coxswain: Sarah Weil

Photo courtesy of David Hastings

Report filed by Tim Bennett, Yale Sports Publicity