Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Fencing Holds Banquet, Elects Captains

Robyn Shaffer. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Robyn Shaffer. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

Cornelius Saunders and Robyn Shaffer to Lead Bulldogs Next Year

NEW HAVEN, Conn. — The new captains for next season were announced and several players received awards for their efforts this past season at the Yale fencing teams' annual end of year banquet. Sophomore Cornelius Saunders will captain the men's team while junior Robyn Shaffer was elected to lead the women's team for another year.

"Cornelius is a very experienced fencer who understands what the team needs in order to be successful," said senior captain Shiv Kachru. "He is a hard worker and I know that I am leaving the position of captain in very capable hands.  I'm really looking forward to see how Cornelius will lead this team next year." 

Kachru, himself, was the recipient of several awards. He took home the "Pop" Grasson Cup for his captaincy of the men's team, as well as the Most Valuable Fencer award.

"I am really honored I was able to win the MVP award in my final season here at Yale," Kachru said. "For me, it is a culmination of my hard work for the past four years.  I would never have been this successful without the strength and support of my teammates, so I am grateful to them for all the help they have given me."

Freshman Lauren Miller capped off her successful opening season with the team by winning two awards: the Most Valuable Fencer award and the Kristaps Keggi Award, given to a "freshman member who best exemplifies the qualities of competitive spirit, achievement, and dedication to Yale Fencing."

Shaffer, meanwhile, received the Sherry Marcy Award for captaining the women's team this past season.

Sophomore Peter Cohen won the Coach Harutunian Award for the best male sophomore fencer, while junior Nate Benzimra claimed the award for the best male junior fencer.

Seniors Jose Dario Martinez and Jillian Liu won the Stephen Blum Award and Corey Friedlander Award for serving as manager of the men's and women's team, respectively. Martinez also took home the Everett M. Wetchler Memorial Award, given to the "senior member of either the men's or women's varsity team who best exemplifies the qualities of competitive spirit, achievement and dedication to Yale fencing."

Report filed by James Lu '14, Yale Sports Publicity.