Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

20 Bulldogs Make ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team; O’Brien Earns Commissioner’s Level

The Yale women's ice hockey huddle. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
The Yale women's ice hockey huddle. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale women's ice hockey team had 20 student-athletes named to the 2016-17 ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team, which was announced by the league today. The league also announced the "Commissioner's Level" of recognition, designed to honor the top scholar on each team. That went to sophomore goaltender Kyra O'Brien (Burlington, Ont.), a sociology major.

The Bulldogs' 2016-17 All-Academic Team honorees included four seniors: defenseman/forward Abby Gahm (Eagle River, Alaska), goaltender Hanna Mandl (Nobleton, Ont.), forward Phoebe Staenz (Zürich, Switzerland) and forward Krista Yip-Chuck (Whitby, Ont.). The senior class combined for 12 All-Academic Team selections during their careers. Gahm and Mandl earned the honor all four years.

Players are eligible for the ECAC Hockey All-Academic team if they have a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have an average GPA of 3.00 for the past three semesters.


The complete list of Yale's All-Academic Team honorees and their majors:

  • Jordan Chancellor ** (Ramsey, Minn./Minnesota Ice Cats/Blake), So., Ecology and evolutionary biology
  • Kara Drexler *** (Manhattan Beach, Calif./Anaheim Lady Ducks/Mira Costa), Jr., Economics
  • Abby Gahm **** (Eagle River, Alaska/Team Pittsburgh/Brewster), Sr., Molecular, cellular and developmental biology
  • Kaitlin Gately *** (Hingham, Mass./Assabet Valley/Milton Academy), Jr., Political science and economics
  • Tera Hofmann * (Toronto, Ont./Durham West Jr. Lightning/Ursula Franklin Academy), Fr., Undeclared
  • Hanna Mandl **** (Nobleton, Ont./Brampton Jr. Thunder/King City Secondary), Sr., Molecular, cellular and developmental biology
  • Emily Monaghan *** (Calgary, Alta./Edge School for Athletes), Jr., Economics
  • Eden Murray * (Medicine Hat, Alta./Edge School for Athletes), Jr., Economics
  • Kirsten Nergaard * (Stamford, Conn./Islanders Hockey Club/Phillips Exeter Academy), Fr., Undeclared
  • Kyra O'Brien ** (Burlington, Ont./Burlington Jr. Barracudas/Nelson), So., Sociology
  • Courtney Pensavalle *** (Winchester, Mass./Team Pittsburgh/Noble and Greenough), Jr., Sociology
  • Mallory Souliotis *** (Acton, Mass./Assabet Valley/Noble and Greenough), Jr., Biomedical engineering
  • Phoebe Staenz * (Zürich, Switzerland/Swiss National Team/Choate Rosemary Hall), Sr., Economics and mathematics
  • Kate Tewksbury * (New York, N.Y./Mid Fairfield Stars/Taft), Fr., Undeclared
  • Sophie Veronneau * (Ottawa, Ont./Ottawa Junior Lady Sens/Franco-Cité), Fr., Undeclared
  • Emma Vlasic * (Wilmette, Ill./Chicago Young Americans/New Trier Township), So., Undeclared
  • Brittany Wheeler *** (Maple Grove, Minn./Jr. White Caps/Benilde-St. Margaret's), Jr., Environmental studies
  • Grace Wickens *** (Toronto, Ont./Toronto Jr. Aeros/St. Clement's), Jr., Psychology
  • Julia Yetman ** (Pierrefond, Qué./Dawson College Blues/Kuper Academy), So., Undeclared
  • Krista Yip-Chuck *** (Whitby, Ont./Whitby Jr. Wolves/All Saints), Sr., Sociology
 * times honored in career
Report by Sam Rubin '95 (, Yale Sports Publicity