Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seven Swimmers Receive Annual Team Awards

Molly Albrecht. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Molly Albrecht. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale women's swimming and diving team held its annual end of season banquet Friday night.  The traditional senior speeches were delivered followed by the giving out of the team's annual awards.  Sophomore Molly Albrecht won big, picking up two awards and being recognized for breaking three school swimming records.  The evening ended with junior diver Rachel Rosenberg being named as the 2011-12 team captain.

Albrecht's two awards were the Harry Burke Award and the S. Livingston Mather Award.  The Harry Burke Award was established in 1966 by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded for outstanding contribution to Yale Swimming by an underclassman.  It honors Yale's former freshman swim coach.  The S. Livingston Mather Award is given in honor of the late S. Livingston Mather, Class of 1905, for outstanding performance in backstroke swimming.  Albrecht has won the Mather award now for two years in a row.  Albrecht was also recognized for breaking three Yale records at the Ivy League Championships in February.  Albrecht swam a 4:47.14 in the finals of the 500-yard freestyle to take second place and a 1:56.72 in the 200-yard backstroke again to take a very close second.  The third record was set in the 800-yard freestyle relay.  Senior Ileana Lucos, Albrecht, sophomore Cynthia Tsay and sophomore Joan Weaver posted a 7:20.23 to take second place ahead of Ivy League Champs Princeton.

Junior Hayes Hyde won the Heaton High Point Award.  The Heaton High Point Award is given to the swimmer or diver who has scored the highest possible number of points for the team in dual meet competition for the past season. 

Junior Athena Liao took home the M. Davies Award.  The Davies Award is donated by the family of Melindi Davies, Class of 1998, and is awarded for outstanding performance in breaststroke swimming.

Lucos won the William Leeming Jelliffe Award.  The Jelliffe award is given out to the senior who has shown the greatest progress and development in swimming ability and outstanding leadership during her college years. This prize is given in memory of William Leeming Jelliffe by his father, the late Dr. Smith Ely Jelliffe. 

The Tim Jecko Award, which is awarded annually to a member of the men's team and the women's team for outstanding performances in the individual medley, went to freshman Courtney Randolph.  The award was established in 2004 in honor of Tim Jecko '59 by the Yale Class of 1959.  Jecko, a member of the 1956 United States Olympic Team, won many national championships and held many records in freestyle, butterfly and the individual medley. 

Senior Kristen Darwin won the MacLeish Memorial Swimming Trophy.  The trophy was established in 1936 by Hassted R. Vanderpoel '35S in memory of Kenneth MacLeish '18, who was killed in World War I.  It is awarded to that member of the Yale swimming team, who through her efforts and high ideals in sportsmanship and loyalty, best exemplifies the spirit of Kenneth MacLeish.

Captain Annie Killian repeated as recipient of the Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson Award.  This award is presented by the Yale Swimming Association and is awarded to the upperclassman of the women's varsity team who has contributed immeasurably to the Yale Swimming tradition by her dedication and personal achievements.  The award honors the former secretary of Robert Kiphuth and Phil Moriarty, national official, and supporter of Yale Swimming, Eleanor "Bobbie" Dawson.

After all of the team awards were given out, John Lapides '72 was recognized for his 30 years of service as President of the Yale Swimming Association.  Lapides will be stepping down from his leadership position but will be every bit as present for home meets at Kiphuth Pool in the coming years as a father of a member of the Yale Swimming Class of 2015.

The final announcement of the evening was that Rachel Rosenberg would be leading the team as captain for the 2011-12 season.  The junior from Strongsville, Ohio is the first diver to be named captain in recent memory.

Report filed by Tom Lynam '13, Yale Sports Publicity