Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Another Victory for the Yale Bulldogs

Yale swam against MIT on Saturday.
Yale swam against MIT on Saturday.

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale women's swimming and diving team brings home another win weekend against Rutgers. The final score was 145-98.

The divers had outstanding performances in the 1-meter and 3-meter diving. Hannah Walsh took third in the 1-meter and 3-meter dives with scores of 273.90 and 275.18 respectively. The swimmers also performed well, winning most of the individual and relay events.

In the 200-yard medley relay, Heidi Vanderwel, Cha O'Leary, Maddy Zimmerman and Bella Hindley led the competition as Yale's A-relay and won with a time of 1:41.77. Jacquelyn Du, Ashley Pales, Lili Margitai and Kate Rogers led the B-relay and finished shortly after the A-relay, placing second with a time of 1:46.05.

Distance freestylers Danielle Liu and Kendall Brent took second (10:12.84) and third (10:21.86) in the 1,000-yard freestyle. Liu and Brent also took second (4:59.84) and third (5:07.20) in the 500-yard freestyle. Sophie Fontaine and Claire O'Mara finished first (1:52.87) and second (1:52.97), almost a full second ahead of Rutger's swimmer in the 200-yard freestyle. Sprinters Bella Hindley and Maddy Zimmerman placed first (23.63) and third (24.48) in the 50-yard freestyle. Hindley, O'Mara and Rogers stole first (51.64), second (52.43) and third (53.04) in the 100-yard freestyle.

Bebe Thompson and Sophie Pilkinton swept second (2:08.27) and third (2:08.34) in the 200-yard individual medley. Butterflier Maddy Zimmerman took stole the first spot (55.90) in the 100-yard butterfly. Backstrokers Heidi Vanderwel and Sophie Fontined took second (56.75) and third (59.10) in the 100-yard backstroke. Breastrokers Cha O'Leary and Ashley Pales swept first (1:03.25) and second (1:05.70) in the 100-yard breastroke.

In the 200-yard freestyle relay, O'Mara, Rogers, Margitai and Cheryl Xiang raced to the wall finishing first (1:36.44) as Yale's A-relay. Fontaine, Amy Zhao, Du and Charlotte Hylinski led the B-relay, finishing third (1:38.20).

The Bulldogs will next compete against Seton Hall.  The events will be held on Friday, Jan. 19, starting at 4:00 p.m. at South Orange, N.J. Admission is free for all spectators.

Report filed by Angela Lee, YSPH '18, Yale Sports Publicity